Forbush students stage production of ‘Moana’

				                                Forbush High School’s cast of “Moana.”

Forbush High School’s cast of “Moana.”

Forbush High School’s Performing Arts Department proudly presented “Moana, Jr.” on Nov. 17-18. The students were pleased to welcome hundreds of fellow students from the community schools for matinee performances on Nov. 16 and 17.

More than the standard triple threat skills of acting, singing and dancing, the Forbush Musical Theatre students (grades 9-12) have been developing a myriad of valuable real world talents: especially their teamwork and communication skills, said theater teacher Tara Hauser. Additionally, the students are learning that their proactivity, dependability and resourcefulness will be stand-out traits in future job searches. From their experiences with musical theatre, students say they have “learned to understand, trust and work with one another,” and are “thankful for the new friendships they’ve made”.

The musical cast has learned what it means to be a reflective practitioner with a growth mindset; that none of us are perfect, mistakes sometimes happen, cover for one another and set goals to improve next time. Hauser encouraged students to pause pre-show, look around and realize that they are in the middle of a happy memory, and to enjoy it. She loves that productions bring families and the community together in support of the most amazing youth. She is extremely thankful to be at Forbush High School and is delighted with the support from Yadkin County Schools, the community and Theatre Boosters.

The cast included: Ensemble: Kylie Cantrell, Rose Evans, Lune Fulp, Skyler Hobson, Ailyn Reyna-Barrera, Kaitlyn Roberts, Laura Draughn and Madelynn Tise. Moana: Jayliana Bracken, Chief Tui: Paul Huneycutt, Sina: Lindlea Huttar, Hei Hei: Genna Robertson, Pua: Abby Harper, Gramma Tala: Jahmelia Edwards, Maui: Noah Short, Gate Monster: Maddie Altice, Tamatoa: Joleen Grifith, Te Ka/Te Fiti: Rose Evans, Ocean Ensemble: Ashlyn Douglas, Ray Pauca, Sofia Coston and Maggie Miller.

The Tech Crew included: Ashlyn Douglas, Jonah Brown, Abigail Dickens, Ash Kobi, Mady Ramey, Maggie Miller, Georgia Maestas and Malaya Hall.

Hauser was the director with musical direction by Michael Martinez.

Source link

Leave a Comment